Nipissing University Indigenous Council on Education (NUICE)

500 Internal Server Error

Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error and was unable to complete your request. Either the server is overloaded or there is an error in the application.

The Nipissing University Indigenous Council on Education (NUICE) is an advisory body to and resource for the Office of Indigenous Initiatives and Nipissing University.


The NUICE exists to advance and to support Indigenous student success in all aspects of Nipissing University governance, academic and research programming. As an advisory group, the NUICE ensures the diverse perspectives of regional Indigenous communities, peoples and their knowledge are represented and reflected in Nipissing University governance.


The NUICE is mandated to recommend and advocate for programs that support Indigenous students and to promote engagement with Indigenous communities.

Contacting NUICE 

For information, contact: 

Office of Indigenous Initiatives, Secretary
Tel: 705.474.3450, ext. 4899
Fax: 705-​472-8601​​


Voting Members

  • Atikameksheng Anishnawbek - Kim Nootchtai
  • Dokis First Nation - Lois Lambert
  • Kebaowek First Nation - Rose Jawbone
  • Nipissing First Nation - Nancy Allaire
  • North Bay Indigenous Friendship Centre - Maurice Switzer
  • Omushkego Education - Lorraine Sutherland
  • Timiskaming First Nation - Allan McLaren
  • True Self Employment and Training - Donna Forget, NUICE Chair
  • Wikwemikong Board of Education - Fay Zoccole
  • Métis Nation of Ontario Mattawa Métis Council - Melanie Rose
  • Métis Nation of Ontario North Bay Métis Council - Susan van der Rassel
  • Nipissing University (student) - Paige Linklater-Wong
  • Nipissing University (student) - Carly Renaud

Ex-Offico Members 

  • Elder - John Sawyer
  • President & Vice-Chancellor, Nipissing University - Dr. Michael DeGagné
  • Provost & Vice-President Academic & Research - Dr. Arja Vainio-Mattila

Faculty and Board of Governors Representative

  • Dr. Pavlina Radia, Dean, Faculty of Arts and Science
  • Dr. Carole Richardson, Dean, Education and Professional Studies
  • Dr. Jim McAuliffe, Dean, Graduate Studies and Research
  • Fran Couchie, Nipissing First Nation, Board of Governors

For more information regarding NUICE, please see the NUICE Terms of Reference and Enji giigdoyang Strategic Plan.